SC contractor’s license # M99518 (Scroll down to see each individual employee license & certifications)

When you schedule an HVAC service for your residential or commercial property in Columbia, SC, you expect your technician will understand every facet of your HVAC system and restore it to full functionality. Likewise, you expect your technician will be certified to do his or her work properly.

Airwaves Heating & Air staffs certified air conditioning technicians and certified heating experts to provide you with quality work you can trust. Learn more below about the different certifications our technicians hold. When you’re ready to schedule an HVAC service, give us a call at (803) 754-9099.

EPA Certification

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) sets strict regulations to ensure that commercial and industrial enterprises don’t negatively impact the environment. Additionally, federal law requires many businesses—HVAC businesses included—to have and maintain EPA certification.

While there are different levels of certification available (Type I, Type II, Type III, and Universal Certification), each type indicates that that particular HVAC technician can work on certain HVAC systems and with certain chemicals those units use.

For example, Type I certification allows HVAC technicians to work with smaller appliances that contain five pounds or less of refrigerant. Type II certification allows qualified technicians to work on medium-, high-, and very high-pressure appliances, whereas Type III permits work on low-pressure appliances. Universal certification allows a technician to work on all of these appliances.

NATE Certification

In addition to protecting the environment and your property, your HVAC technician should also have working, real-life knowledge of how different HVAC systems work. After all, you don’t want to have a professional arrive at your property and then realize that he or she doesn’t know how to repair, maintain, or install your specific heater or air conditioner.

North American Technician Excellence (NATE) tests technicians on their knowledge of diverse systems. If the technicians demonstrate clear understanding and competency in various HVAC areas, they receive NATE certification and prove to their future clients that they can undoubtedly repair any heating and cooling issues.

As with EPA certification, there are different levels of NATE certification. For example, entry-level and early-career technicians can receive basic certification so they can get started in their careers. Professional-level certification is available to professionals with two years or more of experience, and this kind of certification allows them to work in specialty HVAC fields like gas heating, oil heating, heat pumps, hydronics gas and oil, and commercial refrigeration.


If you’d like to learn more about our EPA-certified air conditioning and heating technicians, read more below. We’ll let you know exactly what kind of expertise we maintain and how we can benefit you, your property, and the environment.

Employee Licenses & Certifications

  • EPA Certification

  • EPA Certification

  • EPA Certification

  • EPA Certification

  • EPA Certification